Tags

, , , ,

Interview written and conducted by Rhyan Gaspari

20131011-160351.jpg

Deciding that metal wasn’t what the band wanted to do, Heart to Heart is changing the game. Rock driven music with metal elements are combined to create something really cool. In a scene where lots of bands sound the same, this band is really mixing it up. One listen and you’ll instantly know that this band is actually different from the usual.
This week, Metal and Melodies spoke to Nick Zoppo of Heart to Heart. In this interview, Nick shares his thoughts about the current state of the music scene, his theme song and even news about the bands next tour.

How are you doing today?
I am doing great. The day is still young. Thank you for asking.

Please introduce yourself for the Metal and Melodies readers.
My name is Nick Zoppo. I am the vocalist for Heart to Heart.

How did Heart to Heart start?
Heart to Heart started in 2009. We all came from local bands that had been playing together for a while. Some of us used to be in metal bands. I’ll admit it. We wanted to play something different and that is how Heart to Heart came together.

When did you know that you wanted to be in a rock band?
I knew when I was 12 years old. There was nothing else that caught my attention like music did. I went through different instruments and many little bands that I don’t think even practiced. Then finally playing a first show. That’s when I truly knew this is what I wanted to do with my life.

Who or what inspires you?
Shit, life inspires me. I have to have an outlet and just writing about shit I normally don’t talk about helps me. I always liked music that I could feel. I am a fan of many different styles of music. Just that fact that people care about us inspires me.

What do you feel makes you different from other bands in your genre?
Hands down, our live show. I would like to say it is one of a kind.
I’ll leave it at that. Come see for yourself.

Is there any personal message you would like to give your fans?
Follow your dreams. Don’t give up. Don’t do anything you don’t want to do. You live once. Make it count.

What are your thoughts on the current state of the music scene?
It has changed that’s for sure. It seems to me that people don’t care too much these days about going to shows. Well, at least not how they used to. There are so many different styles of music out there these days and people have many options which is great but I feel that bands have to work a lot harder to get recognized and start to get a following. Not to mention downloading music but hey it’s 2013 what did ya expect?

Looking back, what advice would you give to the 16 year old version of yourself?
Hustle hard and be patient.

What is the theme song to your life?
Iris by The Goo Goo Dolls.

You’re going on tour with The Story So Far soon. Can you tell me a little bit about that?
We are pumped. I just talked to the fellas about our plans and I get so anxious thinking about it. It’s the biggest tour we have done to date and we are ready to go. We are buds with TSSF so it’s going to be cool spending a few weeks with them. I’m excited to see all of the bands every night and make some new friends.
We are grateful to be where we are so we are going to make the best of it like we always do.

What has been your biggest struggle as musicians?
Money. Money sucks. We have always been broke kids in a band because it is what we love. But money ruins everything. We get by and we work hard to get what we need. But sometimes I wish we could catch a break. I’ll win a poker tournament one day or something.

What can fans expect from Heart to Heart in the future?
New jams, more touring, ect. We always have tricks up our sleeves so be ready!

Thank you for your time, Nick.
Thanks for taking the time to interview me. This interview was a lot of fun. Talk to and see you soon!

You can catch Nick and Heart to Heart this fall on tour with The Story So Far and Stick to Your Guns in the following cities:

20131011-162229.jpg
Also check out their Facebook page for more information here:
https://www.facebook.com/hearttoheartca

RG

